Camping

I’ve just come back from a two night camp with my three children and three other families – my two sisters and their children and another family which are friends.

The Great British weather did not fail us. We drove up to Grange over Sands in Cumbria expecting rain but in sunshine. We managed to pitch our three tents and party gazebo in summer showers.

Our second day was met with heavy rain and our party gazebo was its first victim. Yesterday morning, my sister and I woke up to wet clothes and managed to bucket out far too much water from one end of our tent.

But we also had evenings under the stars toasting marshmallows. We made bacon sandwiches amongst the wasp storms and ate the best sticky toffee cake that Cumbria has to offer.

So, all in all, we had a great time:we made he best of the situation and had fun.

I’ve now got to apply the same principle to this weekend.

It’s my sister’s birthday and she has invited me and our other sister to go camping (yes, again) at a local music festival.

I’ve only just managed to wash and dry the soggy, smelly mess that was the clothes and blankets from our Cumbria trip.

But that’s not the issue.

Lost Soul has been invited.

I don’t want to see him. I can’t believe thats what I’m saying but it’s true. My inner control freak is very much like wanting to be heard in this situation – being in his company does me no good, no matter how charming or otherwise he is being. I will spend the time until he arrives in nervous anticipation and sheer disappointment in myself for feeling that way.

I will then spend the time whilst he is there trying to work out what his game is and how I should react to it.

So in summary, a weekend of overthinking.

But No! I refuse to let him ruin my weekend on camping, music and family be ruined. I’m going to make the most of it. I’m going to have fun.

Any tips to offer? They will be gratefully received.

2 thoughts on “Camping

Leave a Reply

